No. 20

This morning, March 28, The Sartorialist posted two pictures of a fashion blogger named Angelika, who he described as “curvy.”

Photos via The Sartorialist.

He said, “I saw this young lady in Milan several times this past season. She is one of the crop of new bloggers. I loved that she’s a bigger, curvier girl than most of the other bloggers who you see in the the press and tend to represent the genre.

The subtle thing she achieves so successfully in these two looks is to complement the sturdy but beautiful shape of her legs with an equally strong shoe. A daintier shoe would be overpowered but these shoes create a beautiful harmony for the lower half of her body.”

He got a lot of comments from people upset with his use of the word “curvy.” I don’t think he was calling her fat, just commenting on the shape of her body, which is definitely beautiful.

I, for one, am tired of the word “curvy” being a code word for fat. And now that I’m talking about it, I’m tired of the ridiculous standards of beauty in the fashion world!

I love fashion blogs because they are created by real people with unique style sensibilities who share their idea of beauty with the world. But I’m not familiar with any fashion blogger represented in the press who is a larger size. Maybe I should start putting my money where my mouth is, though. I’m a size 12, and I’ve been too shy to put my own daily outfit photos up on this blog.

Anyway, what do you think? Was The Sartorialist out of bounds by describing Angelika as curvy? Was he being insensitive, or overly critical? I think not, but that’s just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

